Man accused of impersonating ‘Don Jazzy’ to dupe women

Detectives from the FCT Special Anti Robbery Squad Friday morning arrested a 24- year- old University of Calabar third year dropout for allegedly impersonating a renowned Nigeria
musician and producer, Don Jazzy, in order to dupe his female fans. Sunday Obasi alias Coco is being accused by the police of impersonating Don Jazzy of Mo Hits Records and defrauding his unsuspecting female fans. A victim, Ifunnaya, said she got an instant message on her blackBerry from someone claiming to be Don Jazzy and became excited because she is a diehard fan of his. “I told him on chat that I was a big fan of his and loved his creativity and he even sent me a recharge card, which I finished in a conversation with him. I noticed that he deviated into telling me love stories and he suggested I get a new car from one KEFAS Motors,” the victim said. She said the suspect asked her to go to the car dealer to collect a RAV 4 jeep and asked how much she had in her account. “I told him I had N700,000 and the next day, somebody brought the car to me to check and I became so overwhelmed with joy and called him to say I liked the vehicle. He told me the car dealer was selling the jeep for N2.2 million and that he would pay N1.5 million as part payment while I balance the rest,” she explained. The victim said she traced the said vehicle to a car stand at Prince and Princess Estate at Durumi instead of KEFAS Motors as the suspect told her and withdrew N700,000 from the bank to make the payment. “My sister whom I told about the favour, advised me to first of all demand for N1.5 million payment receipt paid by the Don Jazzy on my behalf, before I part with my N700,000. I then called the guy who brought the jeep to my place and he didn’t pick, so I decided to go to that stand where I saw the vehicle and met one Prince Eno, whom I told that Don Jazzy paid N1.5 million as part payment for a RAV 4 jeep and I have the balance,” she stated. She said after listening to her story, the owner of the place became angry and called in the police in order to find out, which amongst his staff took the jeep to the woman’s house. The victim advised women to be careful on the type of people they meet online, adding that she thought everything was real until the fake Don Jazzy was arrested and she realized that she was almost robbed of her life saving due to the love she had for the musician. The suspect, Sunday Obasi, told our reporter that he met the victim through BBM chat and introduced himself Don Jazzy. “She started making requests that she wants a BB Torch handset or BB Pouch phone and later requested for a RAV 4 jeep. I then told her of my personal friend who sells cars and informed Monday my room mate, who has access to vehicles to take a jeep to her and fake he is from KEFAS. “I then promised to wire N1.5million to her as soon as I get to London on Thursday and on that day, I contacted one Queen to pose as my personal assistant and say I travelled out, while my phone was switched off,” the suspect said. The supposed 20-year-old personal assistant said the suspect told her he was into fashion and works with Mo Hits. “He invited me to a hotel at Area 3 to answer calls for him and I normally introduce myself as his personal assistant,” she said. Reacting, FCT Special Anti Robbery Squad’s Commandant, Chief Superintendent Ben Igweh, said the suspect has duped about 11 different women in the past through his BlackBerry. He said the suspect planned the whole operation with a fake spare parts dealer called Monday, who is a member of a 419 syndicate to show the lady a RAV 4 jeep. The commandant, who said both suspects live in a room apartment at Lugbe village, however revealed that when the police arrested Monday on Friday morning, the main suspect, Sunday Obasi, called Detective Elias Ajaka and threatened him to release Monday. “He told the detective that even the inspector-general of police is afraid of Don Jazzy and he was faking his ascent. He even said he was calling from London and we decided to trail the number and discovered the call was from a village in Lugbe. Ladies should not be so desperate with material things and should not trust strangers,”
he added.

Leave a Reply

